Wavves Offshoot Sweet Valley Announces New Album

  • 50

When Nathan Williams isn’t making catchy punk as the leader of Wavves, he and his brother Joel “Kynan” Williams make beat-driven electronic music as Sweet Valley. They’ve just announced plans to release a new album, Eternal Champ II, next month.

The LP will be out on April 20 through Nathan’s Ghost Ramp label. That release date is surely not a coincidence, given Williams’ well-documented fondness for green plants you can smoke.

The 15-track effort is said to be influenced by “video game music and sample-based beat collage.” As the title indicates, this is the “conceptual sequel” to 2012’s Eternal Champ. The wild cover artwork is above.

You can get a taste of the album by scrolling past the tracklist below to see a video for the cut “Hit and Run.” Clocking in at under two minutes, it puts a dissonant spin on 8-bit video game soundtracks. The trippy accompanying visuals were created by Joel.

Eternal Champ II is available on purple vinyl right here. Additionally, Sweet Valley have issued the original Eternal Champ on vinyl for the first time; that one is pressed on blue wax.

Eternal Champ II:

1. Rip Cord
2. Hit and Run
3. Wet Suit Jinx
4. Chameleon
5. Stalker
6. Tunnel Rat
7. Major Blood
8. Coil Crusher
9. Air Tight
10. Falcon
11. Cover Girl
12. Mirage
13. And Then You Die
14. Lady Jae
15. Mutt and Junkyard