Video Premiere: ATREYU’s ‘The Time Is Now’

  • 38

“The Time Is Now”, the brand new video from the California metalcore band ATREYU, might be seen under. The music is taken from the group’s seventh full-length album, “In Our Wake”, which can be launched on October 12 by Spinefarm.

Following a hiatus post-“Congregation Of The Damned” in 2009, Alex Varkatzas (vocals), Brandon Saller (drums, vocals), “Big” Dan Jacobs (guitar), Travis Miguel (guitar) and Porter McKnight (bass) returned firing on all cylinders with “Long Live” throughout 2015. It crashed the Top 30 of the Billboard Top 200 and earned widespread acclaim. Along the best way, the boys bought out numerous headline reveals along with sharing the stage with everybody from SLIPKNOT and LINKIN PARK to Chris Cornell and AVENGED SEVENFOLD.

As they commenced writing for his or her seventh full-length, the band posed an vital query…

“What are you going to depart behind?”, asks Brandon. “We named the album ‘In Our Wake’ as a result of numerous the ideas handle this query. There are lyrics about coping with your individual private demons and darkness. Some of it’s about our kids, which his who we dwell immediately in our wake. Others are about most of the people and the outpouring of hate and concern — particularly in our nation. We created one thing of an idea file with out even attempting.”


“Everything we do causes a ripple or a wake,” provides Alex. “It might be optimistic and good, or it may be fucked up and horrible. However, we’re the masters of our personal future. We need to depart one thing good behind.”

Following a two-year tour cycle for “Long Live”, ATREYU regrouped in Southern California and began sharing concepts for what would develop into providing quantity seven. Ceremoniously, all of them agreed it could be the correct time to reunite with producer John Feldmann who famously helmed “Lead Sails And Paper Anchor”.

‘Long Live’ was actually heavy and harking back to our early materials,” continues Brandon. “While we had been on the highway, followers stored asking to listen to extra from ‘Lead Sails And Paper Anchor’. It made us revisit that period of the band. It was a enjoyable, experimental, and explorative time for us, which is so enjoyable. We wished to provide ourselves and the panorama of heavy music a jolt, so we reached out to Feldmann.”

The band recorded in two chunks bookended by Brandon‘s touring obligations for HELL OR HIGHWATER. Working out of Feldmann‘s Los Angeles studio, they embraced this new method because the producer nonetheless made them”splendidly uncomfortable and keen to push more durable,” based on Alex.

“Every music aside from two was absolutely written within the studio,” says Brandon. “We’d break up off into teams and crank out two concepts per day. We’d by no means written a contemporary concept from scratch each day. Spontaneity makes issues movement so significantly better although. We additionally by no means unfold an album out like this both. We laid the muse with 5 recordings, sat with them, and completed with a greater image of the place we wished to go.”

As a consequence, the file sees ATREYU as soon as once more evolve. The first single and title monitor “In Our Wake”, hinges on a sluggish burning, however bombastic percussive buildup earlier than charging forward with an plain chant and fiery fretwork.

“It’s a deep one,” admits Alex. “We seemed as much as Chris Cornell and Chester Bennington, and their deaths had been contemporary throughout the writing course of. It made us consider what we’ll depart in our wake. We have a alternative to alter the lives of others for the higher.”

A ticking clock provides method to a stadium-size chant on follow-up single “The Time Is Now”. It seesaws between a strong beat and scorching call-and-response by Alex and Brandon as they carry the carpe diem refrain.

“It’s all about simply grabbing life by the balls, selecting your self up by your bootstraps, and realizing you solely have one shot at this,” Brandon goes on. “That was very reminiscent and reflective of this album. In our heads, there is no time to fuck round or simply do what we have all the time finished. We have to essentially fucking go for it. Tomorrow is not promised, so we went for it.”

Meanwhile, “Terrified” swings from a hypnotic chorus into an acoustic bridge, illuminating the variety on the coronary heart of “In Our Wake”. Closer “Super Hero” (that includes M. Shadows of AVENGED SEVENFOLD and Aaron Gillespie of UNDEROATH) conjures visions of “ATREYU meets QUEEN meets Disneyland meets E.L.O.” with its cinematic orchestration, horns, flutes, and grandiose manufacturing.

“It’s about being your child’s superhero, so we invited different singers who’re fathers to hitch us,” Brandon explains. “Everyone wrote his personal respective half and gave perspective on what fatherhood meant to him. I wished it to really feel just like the music from the Soaring Over California experience at Disney‘s California Adventure park. It ends on such an enormous notice and affords a breath of contemporary air.”

In the tip, “In Our Wake” would not simply reaffirm ATREYU‘s legacy, it expands it like by no means earlier than.

“We need to give listeners an expertise,” Alex concludes. “Every monitor features as its personal second. There’s one thing which you can hopefully come again and hearken to repeatedly.”

“I really feel like that is the file that individuals will bear in mind our band by,” Brandon states. “I am saying that as a result of the perfect elements of ATREYU occurred on it. We’re persevering with one thing we started a very long time in the past. This band means every thing to me. We’ve been by unimaginable highs and unimaginable lows. We’ve liked one another, and we have wished to kill one another. Somehow, twenty years later, it is reached an entire new stage. I really feel like we’re alive, and ATREYU has by no means been extra on hearth than we are actually.”

“In Our Wake” monitor itemizing:

01. In Our Wake

02. House Of Gold

03. The Time Is Now

04. Nothing Will Ever Change

05. Blind Deaf & Dumb

06. Terrified

07. Safety Pin

08. Into the Open

09. Paper Castle

10. No Control

11. Anger Left Behind

12. Super Hero




Video Premiere: ATREYU's 'The Time Is Now'