Princess Nokia Re-Releases Debut Album 'Metallic Butterfly' With three New Bonus Tracks

  • 81

New York rapper Princess Nokia wowed the world along with her 1992 mixtape and, extra lately, her emo-inspired A Girl Cried Red EP. Now British imprint Rough Trade is re-releasing her debut full-length, 2014’s Metallic Butterfly, to remind us of the artist’s uncooked beginnings.

Available for the primary time on all streaming providers, the remastered and expanded model of Metallic Butterfly options fan favorites like sisterhood anthem “Young Girls,” her love letter to her Afro-Latinidad “Corazón en Afrika,” and “Dragons,” one in all her earlier hits. It additionally options three new bonus tracks: “Earth is My Playground,” “Versace Hottie,” and beforehand launched single “Anomaly.”

For this very big day, Destiny Frasqueri shared a handwritten letter from the day Metallic Butterfly was initially launched 4 years in the past. “It took me a very long time to get to the place I’m, however I’m right here and it’s all over the place I wish to be,” reads the letter, written on Hello Kitty stationery. “A spot the place each my creative advantage and exhausting work meet.”

It’s a stunning and intimate portrayal of a younger artist who at all times believed in her expertise. She additionally thanks her longtime collaborator Chris Lare, who produced Metallic Butterfly, 1992, and is her present dwell DJ. “Now I believe I could also be prepared for a deal,” she wrote. She needed it and she or he bought it.

Metallic Butterfly (Remastered & Expanded) is offered now. Stream it and browse her full letter beneath.

Princess Nokia Re-Releases Debut Album 'Metallic Butterfly' With 3 New Bonus Tracks