FLAT EARTH Feat. Former HIM And AMORPHIS Members: 'Cyanide' Lyric Video


FLAT EARTH, the brand new band that includes former HIM members Mikko “Linde” Lindström (guitar) and Mika “Gas Lipstick” Karppinen (drums) alongside ex-AMORPHIS bassist Niclas Etelävuori and POLANSKI singer Anttoni “Anthony” Pikkarainen, will launch its debut album, “None For One”, on November 9 through Drakkar Entertainment in Europe excluding Finland (the place the hassle might be made accessible by means of the band’s personal label Suur Etikett). The disc was recorded at Finnvox in Helsinki with producer Hiili Hiilesmaa, who has beforehand labored with HIM, AMORPHIS, THE 69 EYES and APOCALYPTICA, amongst others.

The official lyric video for the tune “Cyanide” will be seen under.

Pikkarainen explains what the tune is about: “I’ve a powerful tendency of making an image of an individual with a whole lot of points in my head who I then attempt to encourage to vary in my lyrics. I am very doubtless simply processing my very own shortcomings on this method, and I actually don’t love telling anybody what to do, however that is what I’ve seen about my writings. So on this tune, I deliberately positioned myself on the market as properly. I attempted to be very trustworthy about the way in which I see the world, to take off a few of the weight of doing a lot preaching. I assumed cyanide is a bit an excessive amount of for a tune title, but it surely does sum up my concepts fairly completely.”

According to a press launch, “None For One” comprises eleven tracks that “ship a magnetically melodic sound and are completely permeated by vocalist Anthony‘s passionately melancholic overtones. FLAT EARTH delivers in the identical parcel each the wonder and the beast.”

if (window.matchMedia(‘(max-width: 480px)’).matches)

FLAT EARTH Feat. Former HIM And AMORPHIS Members: 'Cyanide' Lyric Video

The cowl art work for “None For One” was created by Minna Niskanen and will be seen under.

Track itemizing:

01. Subhuman

02. Blame

03. Given Time

04. Cyanide

05. None For One

06. The Glow

07. Noble Swine

08. Limelight

09. Freedoom

10. Blunt

11. Kill My God

FLAT EARTH‘s “Blame” video was primarily shot through the recordings of the disc in February and March by Tommi Mattila, who adopted the band to seize some documentary materials.

FLAT EARTH was fashioned after Etelavuori fell out with the supervisor of AMORPHIS and exited the latter band. Suddenly, Niclas was left stranded. He determined to indicate the world that he nonetheless had lots to provide, so he began in search of attainable bandmates.

Niclas explains: “After over 20 years taking part in with bands, I used to be at a degree pondering that perhaps I begin doing one thing else. But then I knew I had these songs on my arduous drive nonetheless, and nothing was completed with them. And I simply wished to do away with them and see what occurs. But then it sort of took over and I began to focus extra on that.”

Linde first sprang to thoughts, although he nonetheless had his fingers full with HIM at the moment. Nevertheless, the 2 of them stored assembly often, and began engaged on concepts for brand new songs. Getting Anthony on board supplied further inspiration. And when their previous bandmate Karppinen lastly joined on drums, the group’s lineup was accomplished.

While Linde was busy taking part in the States and Europe on HIM‘s farewell tour, the remaining trio spent their time recording drums to seven pilot demos that had beforehand been taped in Niclas‘s basement studio. Gas introduced alongside two of his personal songs, and Anthony composed a brand new monitor for the band. Linde discovered an previous tune of his he had first fleshed out when he was solely 13. The remainder of the tracks had been Niclas‘s concepts primarily, handled to the band’s preparations, with Anthony offering each the vocal melodies, in addition to the lyrics. The primary construction for the primary album was prepared.

Linde remembers: “Our widespread good friend, who’s been serving to us get this band off the bottom, beneficial a man named Anttoni ‘Anthony’ Pikkarainen, who had been singing in a band named POLANSKI. The band had made a file, and after we might listened to it, we needed to arrange a gathering instantly.

“I’ve an important feeling about our new band. Anthony had recorded with Hiili Hiilesmaa earlier than, and the remainder of us have identified one another for years. It feels as if all the celebrities have lastly aligned.”


Mikko “Linde” Lindström (HIM) – Guitar

Mika “Gas Lipstick” Karppinen (HIM) – Drums

Niclas Etelävuori (AMORPHIS) – Bass

Anttoni “Anthony” Pikkarainen (POLANSKI) – Vocals

FLAT EARTH Feat. Former HIM And AMORPHIS Members: 'Cyanide' Lyric Video