FACT mix 634: Minor Science

  • 26

Loose-limbed techno from the Whities artist.

Angus Finlayson must be one the few club artists working today influenced as much by cult Glasgow band The Blue Nile as classic DMZ-era dubstep. Since 2012, the DJ, producer and journalist has been making inventive club music as Minor Science, but also vocal covers and Scott Walker-inspired drone projects.

After making his debut proper on The Trilogy Tapes in 2014, Finlayson found a regular home on Nic Tasker’s Whities label in 2015, which has released three his records so far as well as a cassette mix, Absent Friends. Last year’s brilliantly weird ‘Volumes’ – which combines a screwface bass drop and a playful vocal sample – was also one FACT’s favorite techno tracks 2017.

Though Finlayson’s mixes have been known to explore ambient and early electronic territory, his FACT session is a selection in the vein his club sets, pitting sinewy synthwave from Charles Manier and vintage electro from Synapse alongside cuts from Peverelist, TSVI & Wallwork, Shawn Rudiman and Cristian Vogel.

“I read this amazing article in the LRB recently that got me thinking about octopuses,” Finlayson says the mix. “Two-thirds their neurons are in their arms, meaning each arm sort has an agency its own. I feel that way when DJing sometimes – parts my collection with different rhythmic agendas are ten trying to wriggle f in different directions. This mix tries to bring them into concert.”

Listen below, and catch Minor Science alongside Lone and Konx-om-Pax in London on January 13, at Berghain’s Säule venue on January 18 with Avalon Emerson and in Paris on January 26.


Phew – ‘In The Doghouse’ Mesh-Key]
Gefrey Landers – ‘Smooth Edges’ Music From Memory]
The Horn – ‘Lady Subject No. 7’ self-released]
Mor Elian – ‘Gamma Gulch’ Radio Matrix]
Mystic Letter K – ‘Law IO’ H-Productions]
Factory Floor – ‘Relay’ (Charles Manier Remix) DFA]
Synapse – ‘The Lower’ Serotonin]
Boris Noiz – ‘Puls’ Yellow Machines]
Jensen Interceptor feat. Assembler Code – ‘Lean Before the Interview’ BNR Trax]
Pote – ‘Karma’ Enchufada]
TSVI & Wallwork feat. Nico Lindsay – ‘Facts’ Black Acre]
Sierra & TD_Nasty – ‘Bones’ Gang Fatale]
Divoli S’vere – ‘Kiki’ Qween Beat]
Kahuun – ‘Plenty Headroom’ Ploink]
Shawn Rudiman – ‘Ruffcut’ Matrix]
Klon Dump – ‘Specialist’ A Colourful Storm]
TSVI – ‘12345678’ Enklav]
Cristian Vogel – ‘Comes’ (2015 Remastered) Sub Rosa]
Peverelist – ‘Still Early’ Livity Sound]
Heiko Laux – ‘Consense (Part 2)’ Kanzleramt]
E-Unity – ‘Unknown Graffito’ Intramuros]

Listen next: FACT mix 633: Jay Glass Dubs