ATREYU: Video Footage From ‘In Our Wake’ Recording Sessions


A two-and-a-half-minute video that includes footage from the recording periods for ATREYU‘s seventh full-length album, “In Our Wake”, might be seen beneath. The disc can be launched on October 12 by way of Spinefarm.

Following a hiatus post-“Congregation Of The Damned” in 2009, Alex Varkatzas (vocals), Brandon Saller (drums, vocals), “Big” Dan Jacobs (guitar), Travis Miguel (guitar) and Porter McKnight (bass) returned firing on all cylinders with “Long Live” throughout 2015. It crashed the Top 30 of the Billboard Top 200 and earned widespread acclaim. Along the best way, the boys bought out numerous headline exhibits along with sharing the stage with everybody from SLIPKNOT and LINKIN PARK to Chris Cornell and AVENGED SEVENFOLD.

As they commenced writing for his or her seventh full-length, the band posed an vital query…

“What are you going to go away behind?”, asks Brandon. “We named the album ‘In Our Wake’ as a result of plenty of the ideas deal with this query. There are lyrics about coping with your personal private demons and darkness. Some of it’s about our youngsters, which his who we reside instantly in our wake. Others are about most people and the outpouring of hate and concern — particularly in our nation. We created one thing of an idea report with out even making an attempt.”


“Everything we do causes a ripple or a wake,” provides Alex. “It might be constructive and good, or it may be fucked up and horrible. However, we’re the masters of our personal future. We wish to depart one thing good behind.”

Following a two-year tour cycle for “Long Live”, ATREYU regrouped in Southern California and began sharing concepts for what would develop into providing quantity seven. Ceremoniously, all of them agreed it might be the proper time to reunite with producer John Feldmann who famously helmed “Lead Sails And Paper Anchor”.

‘Long Live’ was actually heavy and paying homage to our early materials,” continues Brandon. “While we had been on the street, followers stored asking to listen to extra from ‘Lead Sails And Paper Anchor’. It made us revisit that period of the band. It was a enjoyable, experimental, and explorative time for us, which is so enjoyable. We needed to provide ourselves and the panorama of heavy music a jolt, so we reached out to Feldmann.”

The band recorded in two chunks bookended by Brandon‘s touring obligations for HELL OR HIGHWATER. Working out of Feldmann‘s Los Angeles studio, they embraced this new method because the producer nonetheless made them”splendidly uncomfortable and prepared to push tougher,” in keeping with Alex.

“Every music aside from two was absolutely written within the studio,” says Brandon. “We’d break up off into teams and crank out two concepts per day. We’d by no means written a contemporary concept from scratch day-after-day. Spontaneity makes issues circulation so a lot better although. We additionally by no means unfold an album out like this both. We laid the muse with 5 recordings, sat with them, and completed with a greater image of the place we needed to go.”

As a outcome, the report sees ATREYU as soon as once more evolve. The first single and title monitor “In Our Wake”, hinges on a gradual burning, however bombastic percussive buildup earlier than charging forward with an plain chant and fiery fretwork.

“It’s a deep one,” admits Alex. “We regarded as much as Chris Cornell and Chester Bennington, and their deaths had been contemporary through the writing course of. It made us consider what we’ll depart in our wake. We have a alternative to alter the lives of others for the higher.”

A ticking clock offers option to a stadium-size chant on follow-up single “The Time Is Now”. It seesaws between a strong beat and scorching call-and-response by Alex and Brandon as they carry the carpe diem refrain.

“It’s all about simply grabbing life by the balls, selecting your self up by your bootstraps, and realizing you solely have one shot at this,” Brandon goes on. “That was very reminiscent and reflective of this album. In our heads, there isn’t any time to fuck round or simply do what we have at all times performed. We have to essentially fucking go for it. Tomorrow is not promised, so we went for it.”

Meanwhile, “Terrified” swings from a hypnotic chorus into an acoustic bridge, illuminating the variety on the coronary heart of “In Our Wake”. Closer “Super Hero” (that includes M. Shadows of AVENGED SEVENFOLD and Aaron Gillespie of UNDEROATH) conjures visions of “ATREYU meets QUEEN meets Disneyland meets E.L.O.” with its cinematic orchestration, horns, flutes, and grandiose manufacturing.

“It’s about being your child’s superhero, so we invited different singers who’re fathers to hitch us,” Brandon explains. “Everyone wrote his personal respective half and gave perspective on what fatherhood meant to him. I needed it to really feel just like the music from the Soaring Over California trip at Disney‘s California Adventure park. It ends on such an enormous word and gives a breath of contemporary air.”

In the top, “In Our Wake” does not simply reaffirm ATREYU‘s legacy, it expands it like by no means earlier than.

“We wish to give listeners an expertise,” Alex concludes. “Every monitor capabilities as its personal second. There’s one thing which you can hopefully come again and take heed to repeatedly.”

“I really feel like that is the report that folks will keep in mind our band by,” Brandon states. “I am saying that as a result of the perfect elements of ATREYU occurred on it. We’re persevering with one thing we started a very long time in the past. This band means every thing to me. We’ve been by way of unbelievable highs and unbelievable lows. We’ve cherished one another, and we have needed to kill one another. Somehow, twenty years later, it is reached an entire new degree. I really feel like we’re alive, and ATREYU has by no means been extra on fireplace than we are actually.”

“In Our Wake” monitor itemizing:

01. In Our Wake

02. House Of Gold

03. The Time Is Now

04. Nothing Will Ever Change

05. Blind Deaf & Dumb

06. Terrified

07. Safety Pin

08. Into the Open

09. Paper Castle

10. No Control

11. Anger Left Behind

12. Super Hero





ATREYU: Video Footage From 'In Our Wake' Recording Sessions