ACE FREHLEY Guests On New KEN SHARP Album 'Beauty In The Backseat'


Original KISS guitarist Ace Frehley makes a guest appearance on “Beauty In The Backseat”, the new album from singer-songriter and authord Ken Sharp. The disc sheds the dark, musical blood on the tracks vibe of Ken‘s previous release, “New Mourning”, and draws deep from his Philly roots, delivering a fresh blast of infectious soul-pop and power pop. Produced by Fernando Perdomo (TODD RUNDGREN, JAKOB DYLAN, BECK) and Sharp, the record showcases mighty musical contributions from Frehley (guitar solo on “Rock Show”) and another Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame legend John Oates (“Philly Kind of Night”) along with UTOPIA‘s Kasim Sulton (“Mona Lisa Smile”).

The 16-track album traverses a wide musical terrain and a myriad of lyrical themes. “Rock Show” delivers the intoxicating joy of getting your band on the concert stage; “Pull The Strings” is a quirky story of an adult in his mid-40s who can’t survive without his ventriloquist dummy by his side (“Pull The Strings”), the death of David Bowie is explored on “The Day That David Bowie Died”; “Sinking” chronicles the transformative power of loss while “Listen To Me” is a plea for unity in a world torn apart by social and political tumult and divisiveness.

“Being a Philly boy with my ear permanently glued to the radio dial, the sound of Philadelphia etched its indelible mark on my musical DNA,” says Sharp. “Being able to work in the studio with John Oates, someone whose music was the soundtrack of my youth, was a supersonic blessing of brotherly love! Another full-circle moment for me, being a huge fan of KISS since I was a kid, I was thrilled that Ace Frehley laid down a solo on the opening track, titled, appropriately enough, ‘Rock Show’.”

“Beauty In The Backseat” is Sharp‘s fifth album. He is a seasoned live performer who’s recently landed high profile gigs opening for John Waite, David Cassidy and THE BABYS and headlined The Troubadour in Hollywood, California.

“Beauty In The Backseat” track listing:

01. Rock Show

02. Mona Lisa Smile

03. Lemons To Lemonade

04. No One Seems To Stay Together Anymore

05. Closer

06. 24 Hours A Day

07. Pull The Strings

08. The Day That David Bowie Died

09. The Hardest Part

10. Jetfighter

11. Ring On Your Finger

12. Listen To Me

13. Sinking

14. I Wanna Be David Cassidy

15. Philly Kind Of Night

16. Miracle

ACE FREHLEY Guests On New KEN SHARP Album 'Beauty In The Backseat'