​Bernice Unveil 'Puff LP,' Share New Track

  • 47

Toronto pop experimenters Bernice have announced plans for the follow-up to last year’s Puff EP. They’ll release the elaborately titled Puff LP: In the Air Without a Shape on May 25 Arts & Crafts.
The forthcoming record serves as a minimalist foil to last year’s EP, while maintaining the group’s unique blend of pop, jazz and R&B and capturing the “playful intimacy” of their live show.
The LP was recorded at Montreal’s Breakglass Studios, and the band credit the open space of the studio with helping the process along.
“The vocal booths have sightlines to the band room through windows,” songwriter and vocalist Robin Dann said in a statement. “We did live takes of each song to tape. We could look at each other, try different things, mostly we got each song in a few takes.”
New versions of EP stand-outs “David” and “St. Lucia” reappear on the new album, but the band have teased some brand new material with lead single “Glue.” Dann describes the track as “a landing pad of feelings, fruits, colours, flowers.”
Check out the full tracklisting for Puff LP: In the Air Without a Shape below, then hit play to give “Glue” a spin.
Puff LP: In the Air Without a Shape:
1. Glue
2. Passenger Plane
3. David
4. One Garden
5. He’s The Moon
6. St Lucia
7. Boat