SAXON's 'The Eagle Has Landed' To Be Reissued With Bonus Tracks


SAXON‘s first live album, “The Eagle Has Landed”, will be reissued on October 19. The album features bonus tracks recorded live at Hammersmith Odeon in 1981-1982.

SAXON, over the decades has gone from being a pioneer of the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal to one of the most successful U.K. rock acts of all time. The truth, though, is that SAXON has always transcended trends and eras. From 1979’s “Saxon” album to new album “Thunderbolt”, the band has enjoyed considerable success. Five Top 40 albums in the U.K., with four Top 20 singles. And they were similarly successful in other parts of the world as well. It’s no wonder their influence spread across the globe, and played a crucial role in the way we look at hard rock and heavy metal today.

Originally released in May 1982, “The Eagle Has Landed” was SAXON‘s first live album to be recorded and also the first album to feature long-standing drummer Nigel Glockler. Taking its name from the band’s huge, eagle lighting rig, it was recorded on the European leg of their “Denim And Leather” tour during 1981 and was mixed at Manor And Bray Sound Studio. It was an instant hit and reached No. 5 in the U.K. chart upon its release. This edition features bonus live tracks recorded at London’s, famous Hammersmith Odeon during sold-out SAXON headline concerts from 1981 and 1982.

Original album 1982

01. Motorcycle Man

02. 747 Strangers In The Night

03. Princess Of The Night

04. Strong Arm Of The Law

05. Heavy Metal Thunder

06. 20,000 Ft

07. Wheels Of Steel

08. Never Surrender

09. Fire in The Sky

10. Machine Gun

CD Bonus Tracks – Live At Hammersmith Odeon 1981-1982:

11. And The Bands Played On

12. See The Light Shining

13. Frozen Rainbow

14. Midnight Rider

15. Dallas 1PM

16. Hungry Years

SAXON has just released a special tour edition of their latest album, “Thunderbolt”. The special tour edition features live recordings of “Thunderbolt” and “Nosferatu (The Vampire’s Waltz)” recorded in Frankfurt and Los Angeles on the 2018 “Thunderbolt” world tour. The CD format also contains a 10″ x 10″ poster with photos of the band while on tour.

“Thunderbolt” was released in February via Militia Guard (Silver Lining Music). The follow-up to 2015’s “Battering Ram” was once again helmed by producer Andy Sneap, who has previously worked with JUDAS PRIEST, MEGADETH, ACCEPT and TESTAMENT, among others. The disc features original artwork by longtime SAXON collaborator Paul Raymond Gregory.

SAXON's 'The Eagle Has Landed' To Be Reissued With Bonus Tracks